Party Affiliation

Selecting Party Affiliation

The state of New Mexico does not hold Open Primary Elections. To be eligible to vote in the Primary Election, individuals must be registered as a Democrat, Republican or party that has been qualified by the Secretary of State's Office as a Major Party. A registered voter who wishes to change party affiliation in time to vote in a primary election must do so 28 days before the election.

Currently (2018);
Qualified Major Parties Include:

New Mexico Democratic Party
New Mexico Republican Party
Libertarian Party of New Mexico

Qualified Minor Parties Include:

Better for America Party of New Mexico
Constitution Party of New Mexico
Green Party of New Mexico

Each party has the option of holding a Presidential Caucus several months previous to the June Primary Election for the purpose of nominating a candidate for the Office of President. For more information concerning party activity, contact the party chairman listed below.


Democratic Party Chair

Logan Jeffers
PO Box 2652
Los Lunas, NM 87031
Phone: 505-596-0657

Republican Party Chair

David R. Gardner
P.O. Box 2178
Los Lunas, NM 87031
Phone: 505-553-3496